MYanmar Throwback Challenge

“I guess when going back, there won’t be any time I won’t remember them…”

This was the last line of my last reflection blog about Myanmar 2 years ago, and it still hits up to now.

It is an overwhelming and nostalgic feeling the moment you attempt to open a single folder (from the desktop) that greatly outweighs other files about Southeast Asia, and it gets harder and harder each day to choose that one single portrait in Myanmar where your fondest memory lies. Yes, it is challenging just as how challenging the current critical situation is there (now it has been a month). Revisiting your journals, blogs, farewell letters, some random notes (you haven’t realized you wrote it) late at night even when you are weary cause you are constantly reminded that there are brothers and sisters somewhere out there whose physique, souls, and well-being are worn out but still keep on fighting and struggling. So, I tried stringing cropped summaries… bits of thought… into a whole shared story of what, why, and how the country of many untouched beauties inspired me.

True enough, it is in this golden land that I have ventured to so many places, more than the number of places I have been to my homeland. After 3 days of contemplation, I then narrowed the decision to my experience in Bagan, being the most notable place with unimaginable times. It is exactly 4 years ago when I first stepped into this place with my co-volunteers Darleen and Kuya Karlo, students, and some teachers during the IP-14 excursion. The last week of February, as far as I know (since being there for quite a long time), is usually an excursion time for the graduating seniors of IP (Integrated Program) batches. Almost 2 years had passed, I came back to the same destination with another group of vols. and with the plan of going there independently before a week-long holiday last. It was very clear to me that I risked myself to drive an e-bike without a helmet which I dread. I knew I would be vulnerable to sudden dangers lurking around anywhere especially when I had to carry along a person with me. As much as we wanted to have one, the chance of borrowing it from the hotel owner wasn’t clear at all. I was hesitant to drive afraid that I might have disappointed Aal, who was with me on the same vehicle while Epimarie was following us way back then. Still, I took a small gulp of courage to take on that new challenge. “Buwis-buhay na ‘to!,” I thought. I also knew that it will be draining but a fulfilling experience and at the same time, a way to let go of those burdens that were creeping in. We went on from one landmark to another under the extreme heat of the sun. My hands, which kept on clutching could tell that I was holding on to something I had wished not to show. Every after stops, I had to get my body moving for some more rides. At least, I had fueled myself with some good appetites. I drove down road to road as the ride was smooth and no hassle but at a fast pace. The small but incessant roadways, the fatigue of riding for hours on end, and the body pains; all conspired to make for a challenging stretch of riding. I couldn’t tell whether I was dying or having fun. All I knew is that I survived those whole days of driving despite one or two stumbles but we’re able to carry on smoothly. The driving moment was nevertheless an incredible experience of hardships as to many people there whose self-esteem needed to be lifted.

Volunteering with communities around the world can be an eye-opening experience in this respect. Living in the land of jades and gold allowed me to gain an intimate understanding of its complexity and fascination towards culture while contributing to its development. The Bagan experience would not have been possible if it weren’t for SAG. Located in Taunggyi, I was surrounded by various individuals. Despite its diversity, I became to know never-been-heard stories from students, teachers, visiting professors, and foreign guests. It was a community where the wealthy and needy worked in unison, speak in a common language, and share the same goals (or sentiments). Many of them there come from different places, ethnic backgrounds, and religious beliefs, most of which are from far-flung areas; across Thai-Burma, China-Burma, and India-Burma borders; and to the east, to the south, to the north of where you are. I appreciate the simple living there and perhaps, that is one of the reasons why I stayed back for more years.

My favorite thing about Myanmar is the people. They are always smiling, caring, and willing to help. They are friendly but never ask for money. These are remarkably an expression of genuineness and are something that many can look for and need, and if not only me, others. Go to monasteries, you’ll see that almost all stuff is for free. Meet local people there, and you’ll see how hospitable they are twice as much as we, Filipinos, have ever known. Talk to them, and you’ll hear narratives in awe. Be with them, and you’ll feel at home. They are the kindest and most generous people I met. To me, Myanmar has been my other home.

For someone who hadn’t gone back home for more than a year – 3 years to be exact, you know the feeling of missing home… your family… your friends… thrice as much as everybody feels. You skipped reunions, family-related, and friend-related events. What pains you the most is that behind those smiles you routinely project, you were, at times, grieving, not telling further that you already lost relatives, friends, or anyone you know in secrecy and you couldn’t at least pop a presence on them cause you’re not even there. On the other side, you find that somehow, you’re comforted: that there are those in your community who have been caring and oftentimes, worried for you when problems arise. The experiences were daunting but liberating. The 3-year MYanmar journey, figuratively, is like those rides I had in Bagan.

And if the current situation has been twisted, for now, my hopes for our Myanmar friends, brothers, and sisters are for them to continue growing and live in a time as if the sudden situation now didn’t exist… to bring back peace, freedom, human rights, and democracy they deserve. Many of them have already won my heart and I do believe that their genuine goal to regain these peacefully from the military rule will shine forth from the chains and standards that plunged. Like the portrait below where it was set during sunrise, Myanmar will rise as we knew.

These hopes are meant for them. This story is meant for them. I am one with them. I stand with them.

Lingkawas, Myanmar!


We invite you to join our MYanmar Throwback following these steps:

1) post a photo of your Myanmar story
2) answer the questions below and put them in your caption
3) tag your friends who may have their own Myanmar story

By doing this, you can share light about #Myanmarbefore and #Myanmaroneday

(Where in Myanmar have you been to/ Where are you in Myanmar now?)
(What is your fondest memory there?)
(What are your hopes for Myanmar?)

Leave a comment